It’s been a week since I checked in with myself; aka “my blog.” I just couldn’t seem to find the time or the desire. I wanted to blog, but my struggles with the scale were so discouraging to me. With the suggestion of a friend, and the encouragement of my husband, I set an appointment with a PA (physicians assistant) and woman who specializes in WOMEN MY AGE!!  Isn’t aging grand? What I learned today showed me that aging can be grand, I just need to start treating my body a little differently and it will start responding to my lead!  Go figure!

So what’s the magical approach that gave me the lift I’d been needing? It was the kindness of another woman who shared with me a logical assessment of my health and the things that need help and/or changing that will cause my body to respond to my mind (which is 27 by the way) in a better manner.
– Hormone levels, including things like vitamin D intake… (a little extra sun for me!)

– Healthier eating (I KNEW THAT PART, BUT NEEDED REMINDING.)

– Testing more than just blood (saliva as well) for more detailed results.

I also wanted to share a little more with all of you what my life is like on a daily basis. It’s not to say mine is more difficult or maybe even easier than some. I simply want to share as a way of encouraging others and myself that even in the midst of hard trials or daily garbage, I (we) can take steps to better our health, our lives and our outlook on the future.

So what does my life look like on a daily basis?  Let’s see; I guess I’ll start at the beginning… just a little history to catch you up. I’m the only child of a Hell’s Angel dad & a Correctional Officer mom. I know, I know!! My parents are (or were I should say) as my dad is deceased now and my parents divorced when I was young. But that’s how I started out in life. Growing up with a mom who struggles not only financially, but with over-eating for comfort and control. I see as I am growing older now that I have taken on some of my mom’s struggles. We each have our DNA base that lends to certain behaviors, but it doesn’t mean we can’t learn to make different choices, therefore changing the outcome on our health and our lives.

Bounce forward a few years; I am married to a great guy and the mother of a 13 year old son who was diagnosed with moderate/severe autism at the age of 2 1/2 years. We are truly blessed with our son who is happy, generally healthy and a funny-loving boy. Those are things not always true of many who are diagnosed with this disorder. Back to my daily life…

While I have much to be grateful for, sometimes my daily life contributes to my struggles as I make choices that aren’t healthy for me mentally or physically. Many times when the day begins at 8am with getting myself and my little man ready for school, it then doesn’t stop until late in the afternoon when I return home. Many times not returning home at all until my son joins me. You see he only attends school 3 hours a day! So sometimes trying to EAT RIGHT, STAY FIT, clean the house, buy groceries, go to the bank, etc. etc. etc. doesn’t get done! I’ve never been the best at prioritizing, so I forget and don’t do the things I know I need to do to take care of myself. My thoughts were that I was being selfish. WRONG! What I’m learning is that if I don’t take care of myself, my family will suffer. Having a healthy wife and mom is much better for them, and ME!

I hope I haven’t bored you all with my post tonight. If I have, oop’s! But what I hope is that maybe, just maybe I encouraged someone else travelling a similar road.  More to come…
Fat 2 Fit 2 Fabulous

