Comfort food

The following is a description of “me!”

Comfort food = may be consumed to positively pique emotions, to relieve negative psychological effects or to increase positive feelings…

It’s crazy how emotions play such an intricate part of our daily issues with food. I don’t know if I can adequately put into words how very true this is for me. Each emotion, good or bad triggers a response from my brain about what to eat. If I’m having a bad day, you can bet that my brain is telling me to grab a cheeseburger or make a big bowl of macaroni and cheese. On the flip side; if things are going well and my emotions are good… staying on the healthy eating track is much, much easier. So why does this even matter? Well it matters because my emotions have been all over the place this past year. I guess I have my age to thank for that… and probably a few other things as well.

I’ve been seeing a NP (nurse practitioner) who specializes in women’s health issues. She works with bio-identicals. What’s this you ask?  I’ll post a link in a seperate post and you can read for yourself. But it’s basically a way to treat some of women’s health issues (as she ages) with hormones that are bio-identical instead of chemical.

Back to emotions. They play such a huge part in my history of bad eating. It just seams that as I am aging and my body along with me, it’s harder to stop the consequences of my poor choices. “We are what we eat,” so the saying goes…. I can no longer indulge only in chocolate & wine while expecting results of like that of one eating fresh healthy ‘carrots.”

So what do I do? That’s for another post!!

